Week in Review – Sept. 18-23, 2017

I have been fighting Fibromyalgia headaches most of the week but I did finish two books and started a few crochet things this week.  I have a ton of cotton yarn so there will be some placemats coming over the next few weeks from that stash.  I have also decided to do some more wrist warmers/boot cuffs in a variety of colors and maybe post those on my Etsy page.  I have not put up new stuff for quite some time there and I need to do that more often.

I have some food posts in the wings for you guys… I just need a clear brain to edit and get those up.  I am also hoping for some good days this week to do some canning.  I have just been wiped out with the headaches.  I think the weather changes and heat have brought a great deal of the pain on.  I am ready for some settled cooler weather.

DSC02319

These are two things I did this week.  The round one is a small placemat.  I really love the look of that but I have had to use a larger hook size than the pattern recommends so that it is larger.  I think I could still go up a size for the next one.  The pattern called for a G hook but I used an H hook.  I think an I hook will be the right size.  I found the pattern here but it is no longer available from the designer.  I am glad I saved it to my computer when it was available.

The fingerless glove pattern for the one I did above is here… and there is a boot cuff pattern to match here.  I will finish a second glove and then work on the cuffs to match this next week.

I finished up two books and started a new one this week…  I am currently at 31 books for the year out of my 40 book goal.

TheBlessing
Book #2 in the Amish Cooking Class Series

I did a review on this one here.

JohnStott

The Basic Christianity book has been a study book we have done with a group at church over the last few months.  I finished it up this week.  This was the second time I have read this one and it was just as fantastic the second time around.  If you want to know more about Christianity I highly recommend this book.

These-Healing-Hills

I just started this one.  I read Gabhart’s mystery series and loved her writing and storytelling so this was a must pick for me.  I will keep you posted on what I think when I get to the end.

DSC02272

With the coming of Autumn 2017 I felt it was time to break out the Pumpkin Praline coffee.  I grew up on Community Coffee.  It is an authentic Louisiana style family owned company.  You can special order it and have it shipped directly to your front door.  They have a coffee club program that offers discounts if you set a regular order for every 30/60/90 days.  I have a standing order and I love it.  I can go in and add or change something before next shipment and it works beautifully for us.

Stuff I Love from Around the Web This Week

Dear Firstborn, I Wish You Knew

Grain Free Apple Spice Coffee Cake from Against All Grain Blog

25 Meaningful Things You Can Do in 30 Minutes or Less – Be More With Less Blog

Friends: It’s Something You Do, Not Something You Have from Southern Discourse Blog

Simple Pumpkin Spice Granola from the Sway Blog

Christians, Please Stop Saying That

Should We Imitate the Early Church? – Radical Blog

Pumpkin Spice Cookies (AIP/Paleo) from Sweet Potatoes and Social Change Blog

I am Made For Readathons – fun read from Book Riot

Six Ways to Stay Creative as a Writer (When you are a parent)

Signs You are Living Beyond Your Means (Solutions included)

How was your week?

Do you have a special project in progress or just completed?  I love hearing what others are working on, too.

As always, thanks for stopping by!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

