Called to Create by Jordan Raynor

52912382

Book Overview

This book is aimed toward the Christian entrepreneur.  Raynor focuses on how we should conduct ourselves as Christians running a business in a world that does not know what that means.  He shares stories from his own life and from very well-known Christian entrepreneurs.  He repeatedly shows us how they each glorify God in their daily lives as business owners.  I found this book to be more than a business book.  I surmise that this book can be a very valuable resource outside of the business realm, too.  It has some very valuable lessons on how we should live in this world from God’s perspective.

What I loved

I loved the stories of real people living their lives for God’s glory.  Many of his examples go against the flow of what the world thinks business should look like.  The book is loaded with scripture and biblical accuracy in his approach.  Raynor took a very thoughtful approach to work in general and how we should view work from a biblical perspective.  He spent time on topics such as dealing with money, being creative, buzz words in the business world and what they mean for us as Christians.  My favorite was how we should approach failure as Christians.  I felt that was important because failure does happen in creative business endeavors.

What I did not love

The repeated reference to God as “The First Entrepreneur” was bothersome to me.  God is Father, Creator, Healer, Redeemer, Sustainer, etc…  but He is certainly not an entrepreneur.  It just gave the wrong picture of God… he is not a businessman in a three piece suit trying to sell me something.  I know that was Raynor’s “hook” but it did not work for me.  I wish that this book had been a little more about the creative side of work than the business side of work. Outside of that the book was truly excellent in it’s encouragement for creative entrepreneurs to seek to live and work for God’s glory.

I would certainly recommend this book to any of my entrepreneur friends and family.

I would give it a solid 4 out of 5 stars.

Find out more about Jordan Raynor check out his Facebook page or the Called to Create website.

 

 

One thought on “Called to Create by Jordan Raynor

  1. Stephanie January 11, 2018 / 4:26 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. My brother is definitely an entrepreneur and I have am intrigued by the idea. I’ll keep an eye out for this book.

    Like

Leave a comment