Pecan Season

 

PecanPicking2017I have a pecan tree in my backyard and this is only the third year we have gotten any substantial amount of pecans from it.  We also have some local pecan orchards in the area but I love having my own little tree.  It is a lovely tree!  I am hoping to add a second tree in 2018.

I am a shorter individual but I grow tall children because of my tall husband.  It is nice to recruit the help of long legs and arms to help me get the higher fruit.  This is my middle boy… 6’3″

2017-09-30 11.26.26

My husband and youngest got in on the action a little, too.  We gathered about enough last year to make a pecan pie for the holidays with a few leftover for some oatmeal or a banana bread.  This year we might get a few loaves and two pies.  Now, to just get them shelled.

Here is one of the traditional pecan pie recipes I have used over the years.

Pecan Pie

(I have also used walnuts for this one)

3 eggs

1 cup white sugar

1 cup white corn syrup

(Karo or the like)

1 rounded TBSP flour

(or gf flour)

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp water

pinch of salt

3 TBSP butter, melted

1 cups pecan halves

or chopped pecans

1 unbaked pie crust

(store bought or homemade)

Mix eggs, sugar, syrup, flour, vanilla, water, salt, and butter together.  Pour into unbaked pie crust that has been lined fully with pecan halves or bits.  The pecans will float to the top once it starts to bake.  Bake for 45 to 55 minutes or until set at 350 degrees F.

(one of my favorite versions of this pie which comes from the Yoder Community Recipes, Yoder, Kansas)

My standard traditional pie shell

I am never able to shell beautifully halved pecans.  Mine are always in pieces but it tastes the same, right?!

The sugar/custard filling

Before the baking…

Fully baked and setting.  Nice… no runny pie here.

Do you have a special pie you make this time of year with seasonal ingredients?

Thanks for stopping by and if you try this one I would love to hear your results!

 

3 thoughts on “Pecan Season

  1. Stephanie October 16, 2017 / 11:14 am

    My grandma had a HUGE pecan pie in her backyard. Lots of memories were made under that tree. Confession: I’m not a fan of pecans. LOVE pecan pie, but I usually pick off the pecans and just eat the filling.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie

Leave a comment