Pumpkin Pie

EmilyPie

This is a must every year at our house.  First, I will give you the basic recipe that I use… this particular photo is one I took from our family reunion cookbook I put together a few years ago.  We self published it through a local printing company and sold them to raise money to pay for the facility we were staying in that year.

Here is the recipe…

Pumpkin Pie

Now, let me tell you how I make it dairy free…. I substitute coconut milk and coconut cream for the milk in the recipe.  It works out to about 3/4 cup coconut milk and 3/4 cup coconut cream to make it rich.  If it turns out a little too runny just add less and if it is too thick just add more.

The second alteration I sometimes make with this one is to substitute mashed sweet potato for the pumpkin to make a sweet potato pie instead.  I am a huge fan of the sweet potato pie.

You can use a premade “pumpkin spice” mix but I like measuring mine out one spice at a time.  I have been known to add cardamom sometimes, too… usually in place of clove and cinnamon.

I have not figured out how to make it egg free and still have the same consistency.  I don’t have issues with eggs so I have not really tried all that much.  LOL

I also prefer to use fresh pumpkin to canned pumpkin.  The photo above is one my daughter made with white pumpkin one year and it was amazing!

Do you have a pie that is a must every year for your festivities?

Do you prefer pumpkin or sweet potato?  …. or maybe something completely different?

Here are links to a few other favorites I have shared here on the blog…

Pie Crust 101

Buttermilk Pie

Pecan Pie

Harvest Pie

 

One thought on “Pumpkin Pie

  1. quiltbabe (@quiltbabe) November 22, 2017 / 6:30 am

    This year will be pie-less for me (whole30), though I’m not particularly expecting to miss it. My best friend and I are doing the holiday together, and she has been wonderful about adjusting the menu to compliant foods. There will be apple in the dish I’m bringing, and it does bake…so does that count as pie? lol. When I do bake pie, I like a crumb top apple pie, partly because you only have to make one crust, but also because the crumbs stick nicely to the ice cream the pie is always served with. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment