My Aunt Dorothy’s Squash Dressing

dressing
*  1 pan of basic cornbread (I leave the sugar out of the recipe I shared below) – about 3 to 4 cups crumbled

 

*  1 stick of butter

 

*  about 1 cup of Trinity (2 parts onion to one part bell pepper and one part celery)

 

*  3 cups cooked zucchini squash (chopped small)

 

*  1 1/2 cups cream of chicken soup

 

*  salt and pepper to taste

 

Saute the Trinity ingredients in butter and then combine all the ingredients in a casserole dish.  Bake for 30 to 40 minutes at 400 degrees

 

*  My gluten free version simply calls for replacing the regular flour in my cornbread with Bob’s Red Mill 1 to 1 gluten free flour blend.

 

*  You can also make it vegetarian/vegan by subbing a vegan “butter” and a vegan cream soup of your choice… mushroom, broccoli, etc…  and use an egg free cornbread recipe.  

 

I am all about eating what I love and making it work from my old recipes.  When I can convert an old recipe to fit a new need and make it an acceptable substitute that still tastes good I do.  It MUST taste good, though!

 

Meemawscornbread

Leave a comment